Review of It Follows

Saw David Robert Mitchell’s “It Follows” on Netflix last night. It’s a horror mystery from 2014, but somehow it slipped past me. Having seen it now, I have to say that it is probably one of the most underrated movies ever made. Now, in all fairness if they had advertised the crap out of it (like they did with Prometheus) and I went to the movies to see it, I would have probably come out going like “it was ok..”. But since I’ve never heard of it before, much less seen a commercial or a trailer, I was blown away.

“It Follows” is about a very particular kind of STD, a kind of curse or a demon or a ghost thingie that got transferred onto the person you had sex with, thereby leaving you alone (they didn’t clarify whether or not it had to be unprotected sex). But if the demon would then kill that person, it would go after you again, so it has to be passed on and on. Trust me, I know how it sounds… But once the suspension of disbelief kicks in, oh boy oh boy… Because after 1 second of going “pfff that’s stupid”, I spent the rest of the movie being scared out of my pants. That’s a hyperbole, but you get the point. That movie was truly genuinely scary. Everything was done so subtly, and all the key components (music, lighting, mood, acting) were so seamlessly woven together to create a this feeling of, for the lack of a better word, nostalgia. I call it “cozy despair”. It’s this feeling you get when you are experiencing a generally negative emotion (like fear) but somehow it elicits a warmth within you.

I don’t want to spoil the movie too much, because unlike many other horror movies when you can see the plot twist a mile away, and you know in the beginning who’s gonna live and who’s gonna die and who the bad guy is, this movie does keep you in a state of suspense and you really don’t know where it is going at any given time.

But I do have to say one last thing: if you are going to pass the curse along, make sure to bang someone hot because otherwise you’ll be condemning the poor sucker to certain death, plus if he dies, the demon will come after you.

 

Leave a Reply

